Home Andaman & Nicobar Islands

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands are home to a number of tribal tribes located in the Bay of Bengal about 1,220 km off the coast of West Bengal.

The main islands in Andaman are Land Fall Island, Central Andaman, South Andaman, Port Blair and Little Andaman.

Nicobar, which lies to the south, has Car Nicobar, Great Nicobar, Chaura, Teresa, Nanakovari, Kutchhal and Chhota Nicobar.

The two groups of islands, Andaman and Nicobar, are separated by a ten degree channel.

These 12 islands, especially in the north, are inhabited by Car Nicobar, while the group's largest and most southern island, Great Nicobar, is almost non-populated.

The capital of the Union Territory is Port Blair on the Andaman Islands.

Census of India State-code for Andaman & Nicobar Islands: 35